About The Firehouse Family Series

I wrote these novels to explore problems that haven’t changed much over time.  MEMORIES deals with the emotional trauma of firefighting and how Jake McCann and his firefighter friends cope with their memories.  THE QUARRY looks at medical ethics dilemmas that we still grapple with today, and THE FARM FIRES illustrates an arson problem that may never be stopped no matter how technologically advanced we become.

Woodhill, Allen Falls, and Dalebridge are fictional towns in northeastern Ohio based on attributes from many of the communities in this area. If situated on a map today, Woodhill would be in the southeast corner of Cuyahoga County, bordering on rural Geauga County. I hope you’ll visit Woodhill and enjoy meeting some of the very nice, interesting folks who live there.

The Firehouse Family Book Series is available in hard cover, paper back and ebook at Amazon.comBarnes & Noble, on the iBooks application for iPad/iPhone, and by order through most retail bookstores.

Visit Woodhill, Ohio, the village featured in my Firehouse Family books in this

NOW AVAILABLE – Book 5: All Our Girls

All Our Girls by Laurie Loveman
Book 5: All Our Girls

Linda Marie Newman and Jenny Donnelly have been rescuing young girls from sex traffickers in 1930s New York City. Wealthy, politically and socially prominent Alderman Jayden Wallace has been enjoying the income from trafficking until his operation is threatened by Linda Marie and Jenny.  With help from the Mob, Wallace goes after the women, desperate to stop them from destroying his secret business, but Linda Marie and Jenny have their own resources and an equal determination to see Wallace brought to justice.

Available on Amazon


Memories by Laurie Loveman
Book 1: Memories

Fire Captain Jake McCann is appointed fire chief in a small town near Cleveland, Ohio, where his twin brother is a physician.   Until Jake’s arrival in Woodhill, Laura Darvey’s life has been completely predictable; she is 31, married, a nurse, and breeder of Appaloosa horses.  Jake and Laura share an interest in horses that deepens into a love affair and leads to terrifying consequences when Laura’s husband, Dan, a small-time racketeer, exacts his revenge after Jake inadvertently exposes Dan’s deepest secret.

Read Chapter 1 of Memories now!


The Quarry by Laurie Loveman
Book 2: The Quarry

The Quarry introduces elderly Maudie Hegerty, whose son, Boris, is foreman of the local quarry.  Boris is facing not only potential labor problems, so rife in the 1930s, but he must also come to terms with the colon cancer that is killing his mother.  Maudie is being cared for by Dr. Jessica Malloy, the physician in charge of the emergency department at Woodhill Memorial Hospital.  In the course of her work, Jess befriends Woodhill Fire Department First-Aid officer, Eli Sheffler, who becomes her steadfast friend through the course of Maudie’s illness and events at the quarry that threaten everything they hoped was in their future.

Read Chapter 1 of The Quarry now!

Book 3: The Farm Fires

The Farm Fires by Laurie Loveman
Book 3: The Farm Fires

In The Farm Fires, a small palomino horse brings Glynis Hampton, daughter of dairy farmer Ben Barneshill, into a chance meeting with Woodhill Fire Department Captain Freddy Pratter at the scene of the horseowner’s death.  During his investigation of a series of field and farm fires, Freddy falls in love with Glynis even as
his investigation leads him to suspect that a member of her family could be the serial arsonist who has killed twice and could kill again in his thirst for revenge.

Read Chapter 1 of The Farm Fires now!

Book 4: Demise of the Horse Fairy

Demise of the Horse Fairy by Laurie Loveman
Book 4: Demise of the Horse Fairy

Over the space of several weeks in the summer of 1935, 13 starving horses and ponies, along with one very fat pony and a goat, are left in Woodhill, Ohio. The people of Woodhill rally behind horse owner Laura Darvey and newly arrived Ramona Hernandez, to help restore the abused horses to health.

Bobby Darvey, the man behind the arrival of the horses, earns the nickname The Horse Fairy, but he is not out to save lives. Rather he is determined to avenge his cousin Dan Darvey’s death at, as he believes, the hands of his widow Laura and Fire Chief Jake McCann.

Read Chapter 1 of Demise of the Horse Fairy now!